Category Archives: Uncategorized

10 Tips for After a Car Accident in California

Many people in California are not aware of the laws and get flummoxed when they encounter an accident. Many don’t even know that such a thing as a car accident attorney exists in Orange County, especially in a state wherein 2013, it recorded the death of 185 individuals. It is no surprise that more than 32,000 people die because of a car accident each year and thus, it is essential to know what to do when you have faced such a situation. Listed below are some tips that you can look into to survive the process after an accident.
1. Call 911:
This is the first thing you need to do if you have survived a car accident. You need to call 911 and ask them to dispatch the police. Do not move anything until the police arrive and takes in whatever evidence they require.
2. Check for Injuries:
It is imperative that you ascertain whether the other party is safe or not and whether you have sustained any injuries. If you have sustained injuries then ask for a medical examiner or an ambulance to be dispatched instantly.
3. Collect Information:
Collect as much information as you can from the other party. It is essential that you collect their names, address or number along with their driver’s license number, license plate number, insurance company’s name and policy number.
4. Search for witnesses and gather photos:
If you have sustained a car accident, it is imperative that you search for any eye witness who will bear testimony to the accident. Moreover, click pictures of the damaged vehicles along with their license plates for your auto accident attorney and insurance company. Also, try and click the pictures of the surrounding area, road, etc.
5. Do not give any statement:
It is imperative that you do not give the police any statement, oral or written until the cause of the accident is found. Do not admit your fault without the presence of a car accident attorney, if you are guilty.
6. Inform the DMV:
It is essential that you file a form under the DMV sr1 report if a) somebody has been injured in an accident, no matter how small, (B) damage to property for more than $750 (c) death. This needs to be done within 10 days of the date of the accident.
7. Notify your insurance company:
Contact your insurance company, immediately if you can, and file your claim.
8. Get yourself examined:
You need to get yourself checked properly after an accident. You need to ensure that you did not sustain any internal injuries and are fine to walk around. Also, this allows you to file for compensation in a better manner.
9. Get legal assistance:
It is imperative that you contact an auto accident attorney immediately to protect your legal rights. With accidents that involve injuries and medical bills, you need to have to often fight for them to determine who will pay for it. Thus, an attorney is required for such a purpose.
10. Keep a copy of the physical evidence:
Keep a hard copy of all the records and photos that you have submitted to the police and the insurance company to submit it later to your attorney for further assistance.
If you are looking for legal assistance, then the Orange county injury attorney is someone you can certainly turn to in your hour of need.